The Stories of Seeds

I believe strongly that growing our own food, using the seeds we choose, and eating the way we believe, is about not only about personal freedom but also about food and health safety.

vegetable bed from corner

Our firewood edged raised beds in our 2014 garden.

Is not our right to farm and is not our freedom to farm stated in the second amendment? I am very alarmed about the corporate and agribusiness take-over of our seeds and seed banks.

Snow peas 2

Early tomatoes in the low beds and in bags, an experiment.

This year I made a conscious decision to purchase heirloom and open pollination seeds to use on our homestead.

Beans early July

Scarlette Runner Beans growing up a pole.

Not only do I want to support the small business owners who are working to save old seed varities, I just love the stories of the how those older varities of seeds came into being and were saved. Older seed varieties absolutely intrigue me.

I also want to save my own seeds for the following season. I can save a bit of money and more importantly I know exactly what I am growing.

Vegetable from outside corner

Our fenced in vegetable garden that adjoins the chicken coop and run area.

I want to help preserve the genetic variety of our heirloom seeds one grower at a time.

July raised beds on right side

Our pole beans did very well in 2014. I allow the butterfly plants to flourish in my garden bed.

This year I purchased our seeds from Mary at Mary’s Heirloom Seeds and from Jo at Seed Treasures. These are seeds that will grow healthy old-strain plants that are easy to care for and taste great.

Sunflower patch VERT

Our sunflower patch is part of our vegetable garden for beauty and to help pollinate the plants.

In Michigan the Right to Farm Act used to protect small farmers and growers like the Small House Homestead but this act has recently been altered. This change directly affects homesteaders and farmers who keep bees and chicken keepers and sell their products. Agribusiness is trying to put the small growers out of business. This has forced many of us to go underground.

If you are not yet aware of these natural wonders of the world – heirloom seeds I hope that I have educated you. Seed’s are the original gift of nature, so please join those of us who want to keep them around.

Will you join me?

Small House Homesteader, Donna

 

7 thoughts on “The Stories of Seeds

  1. Pingback: The Stories of Seeds | Small House Under a Big Sky

  2. We are looking for a home this year and I was IRATE to find out that I had to find a more specific home now because of the Right to Farm Act Amendment. Now our home-pool is even more shallow. We’ll find a place though, we already have a few lined up to see! And we’ve already joined you in saving heirloom seeds. I only have a couple non-heirloom plants and they are not vegetables or food.

    Like

    • I believe the Right to Farm Act change is geared toward those who sell their products. But you can check for more details to be sure.

      And if I may suggest this, I’d be more worried about potential fracking if I was buying land today. You will have to do some hard research to find the answer to that.

      Also make sure the mineral rights on the property you are looking at/considering have not been sold by a former owner.

      Also RESEARCH any easements on that property. the realtor “SHOULD tell you but they did not tell us and we got caught by that. You may have to hire a lawyer but it will be worth the expense. I am the voice of experience here.

      Buying country land is very different than buying in the city.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Soil in the Garden of Eden | Nothing Gilded, Nothing Gained–Books & Writing at Middlemay Farm

Leave a comment