Gooey Peanut Butter Chocolate Crockpot Cake

I love to use my crock pot for cooking. I can put in my ingredients and walk away to continue my work in other project and places. I know we are all trying to reduce our sugar consumption but once in a when a special occasions happens and we want to treat ourselves and our families. Making this cake was one of those rare times.

Crock pot choc cake

Today I experimented with anew recipe, Gooey Peanut Butter Chocolate Crock Pot Cake. This was a hit with Gene and would be an easy to make dish to take to a potluck as well.

Chocolate cake in white bowl

Gooey Peanut Butter Chocolate Crock Pot Cake

(Adapted from Taste of Home Slow Cooker)

1 ¾ cup sugar divided (I use coconut sugar)

1 cup 2$ milk (I used almond milk)

¾ cup creamy peanut butter (I used almost butter)

3 Tbsp. canola oil (I use olive oil)

2 cups all-purpose flour

¾ cup baking cocoa, divided

3 tsp. baking powder

2 cup boiling water

Salted peanuts, optional (I use walnuts)

  1. In a large bowl, beat one cup sugar, milk, peanut butter and oil until well blended. (I used a blender.)
  2. In another bowl whisk flour., 1/2 cup cocoa and baking powder; gradually beat into peanut butter mix (batter will be thick.)
  3. Transfer to a greased 5 qt. slow cooker (I greased with olive oil)
  4. In a small bowl, mix the remaining sugar and cocoa. Stir in water. Pour over batter (do not stir.)
  5. Cook covered on high 2 to 2 ½ hours or until toothpick comes out clean.
  6. If desired sprinkle with peanut or walnuts.
  7. Serve also with French vanilla ice cream or yogurt.
  8. Cake closeSmall House homesteader, Donna

One thought on “Gooey Peanut Butter Chocolate Crockpot Cake

  1. Pingback: Gooey Peanut Butter Chocolate Crockpot Cake | Small House Under a Big Sky

Leave a Reply

