Three Season Porch Floor Repairs at Long Last

My beautiful picture

A colorful fall vignette outside our three seasons porch.

Good things come to those that wait!

Some of my followers know just how much we love our three season porch. When the weather cools and the humidity wanes, sitting on our porch in the cool of the autumn with a book and our binoculars is the highlight of our day. We eat nearly every meal there when the weather is pleasant.

Others longtime followers know about our high ground water flooding and possibly even our three season’s porch roof failure and the toll both took on the condition of our favorite porch’s river rock flooring.

I am a Scorpio, the water sign and yet it seems I have bad karma when it comes to water. The Element associated with Scorpio is Water. As opposed to the ‘roiling seas’ seen in other Water Signs, a better motto for a Scorpio would be ‘still waters run deep.’

To make the long story short our porch needed its river rock flooring repaired and resealed as the shine and the stones protective shield was long gone. The company who poured it is out of business but luckily, I found a flooring firm, Central Tile and Terrazzo that could handle the cleaning, repair work and re-sealing.

Steve closer USE

Patient and understanding Steve did a great job on our floor this week!

We had been trying to get this work done since early May but unseasonable cold weather, late season rains and then a workers strike postponed our plans more than once. I had just given up on it for this year and this weeks 80 plus degree temperatures meant there is one last chance for our floor after all.

Side of porch close USE

The side view of our porch, the one seen by family and friends.

I received a phone message yesterday that the workers could fit us in the day after tomorrow! YIKES! We had thought we would have a weeks’ notice to get some help to empty the porch out. No so. This meant I had to find help over night! I made some calls and the man I wanted was going out-of-town but he recommended his son-in-law. We set a start time for 9 a.m. the following morning since the day was promised to be in the 90’s. Problem solved.

Or so I thought.

I got up at 3 a.m. to start to make a plan as to how we would manage such a big project on short notice. The questions included; how to get everything moved quickly, where everything could be stored and how I could efficiently handle the management of this project while cooking, cleaning, going to PT while resting my feet.

My beautiful picture

Pumpkin, mums and vintage accessories make up the patina of this autumn scene of our porch.

First we needed to lay down plywood to protect our landscaping. The porch needed to be emptied and the furniture stored safely, our cars parked over at the studio space so the workers could have a place to park and work , the horizontal curtain panels had to be sealed up in a large trash can and taped shut and I had to figure out a way to get the two large and heavy boxes of stones stored in the polebarn to the porch and so on. By 6 a.m. we were up and moving furniture and accessories. We thought our help was coming at 9 a.m. to beat the heat. We were paying cash, but the son-in-law was a “no show.” So disappoint, especially because I was working on a painful heel when I “should” have been resting it.

Riverrock stones full frame USE

A close up of our real rock flooring material.

Our being “stood up” has happened before and is so frustrating for us. It’s almost impossible to find responsible help in our rural community and I’m not sure why. There is little or no work here and there are so many people out of work that the pool of workers to draw from is large. But the problem seems to be that few actually want to work and that they lack the skills to get to a job on time, or the skills to know how to do the work to a satisfactory level or just do not bother to show up and certainly don’t call us.

Whole porch floor USE

A view of the entire porch floor while empty and sealed.

So Gene and I carried everything out together. And I am supposed to be resting my foot. Hah, what a joke that is. My friends say, “go read a good book, or get off your feet let the work go it will still be there tomorrow” and so on. They don’t understand projects must go on, maintenance must get done and the lawn, flowers, vegetable garden continues to grow and winter is coming. And Gene is 70 and getting fragile too and this place simply takes the both of us working very hard, every day, to keep it up.

For me, this is the most difficult thing about homesteading…knowing that chores and seasonal project need to get done in a timely manner. And yet living with an aging body that can no longer do the work I once could.  Some homesteaders and farmer have children eager to take over for them but when you don’t… the how to keep the homestead or farm dilemma begins…

The floor is now sealed and is drying. In this high humidity it may take some time to fully dry. The last time we had this floor sealed it took over 18 days to dry and it was still sticky… I am hoping to not repeat that scenario.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

An inside view of our eating place with our vintage accents and various collections.

It’s a good thing we did not have plans for guests to visit over the Labor Day weekend!

Small House Homesteader, Donna

3 thoughts on “Three Season Porch Floor Repairs at Long Last

  1. Pingback: Three Season Porch Floor Repairs at Long Last | Small House Under a Big Sky

  2. Interesting post; can see why you spend much of your free time in the conservatory – it’s got a lovely outlook.

    The difficulties you mention trying to find timely labour is typical for us here in the UK as well, many are simply unemployable. Reminds me of an old saying ‘if you need help then ask someone who is busy’, you could of course seek help from some of your frequent guests!

    Best of luck.

    Like

    • So sorry to read that you too have the same difficulties…I think somehow we are failing somewhere along the line… I understand not being able to afford college to get a current skill…but to simply not show up for paying cash work…that I don’t understand. After my first divorce at age 45 when my 27 year marriage ended I took in renters, I cleaned houses, I did hourly yard work. I had bills to pay and I needed the money. The work was not glamorous but I was proud of myself with cash in hand.

      Like

Leave a Reply

