A Different Kind of Senior Moment

It’s been one of those weeks…a “senior” kind of week in fact.

Our appointment with the podiatrist diagnosed my heel pain as alas, Plantar Fasciitis and Gene’s feet troubles as arthritis, hammertoe (which we knew,) neuropathy. No, he is not diabetic and there is no specific reason for his neuropathy… it just is.

Bodies acting up or giving out seems to be one of the “givens” of senior homesteading. Many of my friends with farms have faced many challenges like this one before too.

We always tease and say “We are wearing out our bodies with this lifestyle” and while it is a joke, there is also some real truth to that statement. This is one of the high costs of the homesteading business, so to speak.

Leg centered and 2 chairs

I now have a sleeping boot. It doesn’t sound like a big deal, just slip it on and go to sleep. But I am a super “sensitive” sleeper. I can’t take anything but cotton on my body, nightgown or sheets and if the sheet has any pills on it…forget sleep for me. And like many women who experience hot flashes and night sweats I need to put feet outside of the sheet to regulate my body temperature.

Wearing a stiff, heavy boot made of a thick, manmade fiber that is also hot and scratchy is enough to keep me awake. I only slept about two hours last night, but I said I would give it my best effort and I am.

Gene is also having feet issues, quite serious ones and is in pain nearly every day. We both had custom orthotics cast and will have to those to put in our  shoes in a few weeks. I am hoping that these orthotics especially help with my heel pain and Gene major feet issues without his having to have surgery.

The pain is pretty bad and I’ve had to take things a lot slow of late.

To get my mind off of things,  I made this delicious salad for lunch today.

RAW BEET SALAD WITH w/ PUMPKIN SEEDS & PARSLEY

3 medium (1 lb.) raw red beets

¼ cup apple cider vinegar

½ extra virgin olive oil

1 cup toasted pumpkin seeds

½ cup lightly packed raw parsley

2 large TBLS of Olive Cart Cherry Orchard vinaigrette (a slightly sweet taste) Optional

½ cup dried cherries (for a slightly more sweet taste) Optional

2 tbs. sea salt

In a large bowl mix all together. Serve immediately or refrigerate for up to 2 weeks depending on your fridge.

CHANGE IT UP: 1) Sub sesame seeds, sunflowers seeds or nut for the pumpkin

Add ¼ cup crumbled blue cheese or feta cheese

Substitute FRESH chives, basil, dill or tarragon for ½ the parsley

Small House Homesteader, Donna

 

Leave a Reply

