Hidradenitis Suppurativa

It’s been a very long and painful week for me.

Turnaround July from driveway USE

I have a skin disease called Hidradenitis Suppurativa (HS) and this week I had a serious flare-up. To help understand HS; imagine having a skin disease that your doctor does not understand, that is painful and none of the treatments you’ve tried make it any better and that keeps getting worse overtime. Now you have an idea of what having HS is like.

VERT Back of pool shack close July

For me most flare-up’s means bacterial infections that are sore, inflamed and very, very painful and my typical life stops.

In order to not take antibiotics every three months (or thereabouts) I mostly cold turkey these events using only a hot compress and a drawing salve. It’s not easy, it’s certainly not comfortable and it’s not fun but I know that the constant drugs can cause serious side effects and are generally are very bad for my body as they kill the good bacteria as well as the bad. HS is a chronic inflammatory skin disease that affects an estimated 1-4% of the world’s population.

VERT corer of pole barn daylilies

Without going into too many of the gory details, this event starts in a sweat gland and hair follicle that becomes blocked and ends in a painful and infected boil. There is no cure for HS and I know others who have it much worse than I do. I try to control mine thorough efforts to keep up my high quality nutrition, get lots of rest and sleep and keep stress at bay but sometimes with the demands of this homesteading lifestyle, I fail.

VERT sunflowrs and new run frame July

This episode resulted in two back-to-back cysts in a very delicate place, requiring antibiotics and painkillers. So it’s been severe pain, stomach and digestive system upset, mind-numbing fatigue and flu-like symptoms going on 9 days and still counting.

Studio triangle ned in foreground USE

So as a result I have not been able to post on a regular basis. Quite frankly I’ve been barely able to keep up with caring for my chickens, garden and cooking and extra doctors’ visits and hot compresses multiple times a day. That’s about it.

Pink flowers at studio mid close

I’m sharing more garden and chicken run building photographs because that is all I have been able to manage this week. Next week will be better!

Small House homesteader, Donna

Leave a Reply

