Easter on our Homestead

Holidays can be hard times in a divorced family and our family is no exception. Add to the fact of being divorced…having three out of four adult children living in distant states (where the jobs are) also complicates the agenda.

Easter Snoopie

It turns out that we are mostly alone on holidays and each time I struggle to deal with that. I know it could be much worse. I could be single and have no husband to spend the day with, which I do and I am very grateful for. But I do miss the big dinner excitement of every one coming over on the holiday weekend I use to enjoy when my children were little. And I miss my children and grand children.

This year I tried to organize a dinner out in a nearby city with my son and his girlfriend – which would have been a real treat for us since we so rarely eat out.  My thinking was that they would not have to make the hours’ drive each way to our home, no one would have to clean and cook and it would make the day a bit easier all around.

Then my son told me he had been too stressed and did not feel up to having a get-together. I was crushed. This had been happening a lot lately, including last Thanksgiving. I want to be sympathetic and understanding to his situation but holidays alone year after year can be crushing.

So I decided I could either sit home and mope or Gene and I could plan something fun for us. So we invited our friends Barry & Sue to go to dinner at the place we knew was one of their favorite restaurants.  I knew that this was going to be a real stretch for me as restaurants here focus on “the Meat”. And with my diviterucolus eating meat, fat or gravy would put me into pain and discomfort for a week. I can eat small amounts of chicken, turkey and fish (I love salmon!) but heavy meat, fat and gravy is just a no no.

I jumped on-line to see if they had a printed menu and they did. I found that while I would not have my first choice or even a lot of choice I could choose turkey or a vegetarian burger. So I gave the go-ahead.

 

This year I tried to organize a dinner out in a nearby city with my son and his girlfriend – which would have been a real treat for us since we so rarely eat out.  My thinking was that they did not have to make the hours’ drive each way to our home, no one would have to clean and cook and it would make the day a bit easier all around. Then my son told me he had been too stressed and did not feel up to having a get-together.  I was crushed. This had been happening a lot lately, including last Thanksgiving. I want to be sympathetic and understanding but holidays alone year after year can be crushing.

One thought on “Easter on our Homestead

Leave a Reply

