Rain Blessed Rain

We finally had a bit of rain on the homestead today. Not enough to be considered a real spring soaker but I figure some rain is better than none. Normally we are under water in the spring here but this year it has been very, very dry.

iRussian sage purple masses

Looking forward to this Russian Sage kind of beauty in our garden this fall.

I have been hand carrying water to perennials in the vegetable garden and a few climbing shrubs that are located under the house eve’s because our outdoor well is not up and running yet. We are not past the international frost date for sure and know that frost and or snow could happen anytime here in our Zone 5b garden.

Today I also planted a large Russian sage shrub given to me by a friend. She tore it out of her landscape because it was planted too close to her home, grew too big for her space and it was a spreader, she said. I happily planted it in our wildflower meadow where spreaders are always welcome!

Meadow in March

Our wildflower meadow in March with my studio in the background.

I generally prefer native plants but I am willing to make an exception in this case. This is a lovely shrub well suited for our soil, sun and cold conditions. It was very happy at her house which is located about 10 miles from us.

I was not familiar with this perennial plant so I did some on-line research and found to my delight that this is a sub-shrub that flowers and has an intense fragrance. The shrub grows on upright grayish white stems from 1 to 3 ft. long with deeply lobed and notched silvery gray leaves. In late autumn the Russian sage produces spires of small, tubular flowers of blue or lavender color. These spires may last up to two or three months. This shrub sounds perfect for us!!

Russian Sage

Thank you Wikipedia for this Russian Sage image!

I planted it in our wildflower meadow next to the walking path so that when we brush by it on our way into the woods we should be able to smell its pungent order. Clever thinking huh?

Russian Sage close

Another close up of a Russian sage flower. So pretty!

It felt so good to be out in the garden and have my hand in the dirt today.

One more funny story: My chickens were out in the raspberry bed free ranging this morning when it started to rain. I looked out to see what they were doing and they were milling around in circles looking like they were not sure what to do in the rain and the wind. I realize then that this was their first “rain experience.” And I also realized they needed to be taught to go back to their covered run in the rain. So I played chicken mom and took them back in and tucked them safely in under their covered run. I wonder if this is a lesson they will remember?

Stay tuned for many more gardening adventures to come.

Small House homesteader and gardener, Donna

 

 

One thought on “Rain Blessed Rain

  1. Pingback: Rain Blessed Rain | Small House Under a Big Sky

Leave a Reply

