Homesteading: What I Would have Done Differently

At the beginning of the new year many folks start making their New Year’s Resolutions. I admit, I use to do this but I don’t any more. I now have an ongoing list of projects in my computer all year rounds that serves to provide focus and keep me on task.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The entry point to our home down the sidewalk and under the trellis to the three-season porch. This is spring.

Turn around bed and trellis

The same point but in the fall when the ornamental grasses are in flower.

This year instead I am looking back to see what I might have done different on the homestead had I known then, what I know now.

Lupines bricks diaganol USE

One of my favorite flower beds is the native lupine bed in front of our home.

I believe we did a lot of things right but the main change I would have made was to have plant our fruit trees sooner. I was not educated yet and just didn’t take the time to find out what trees would work best for us here. If I had planted those trees early on, we would have happily been eating our own organic fruit from our own trees for the past few years now.

Back of house fall deep sky best USE

Why I call our blog The Small House Under a Big Sky.

That’s it. That is about the only thing I would have changed. And that’s not bad for two mid-life novices who came to the country from the city (think Green Acres!) to work with their hands and grow their own food and make their own artwork!

IMG_4561

An autumn view of our pole barn surrounded by White Oak and White Pines.

garden back of porch chartreuse and porch

The rear garden bed behind our three-season’s porch. 

Studio under deepblue sky NICE

My art studio, the former White Oak Studio & Gallery.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The daylily bed under a crabapple trees is the centerpiece of our center sidewalk.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Daylilies in their summer beauty under our trellis.

Field stonesand garden in bloom nice

Our flower beds are edged in hand-collected field stone.

Live and learn, make mistakes and learn from them and rejoice in the successes!

Small House Homesteader, Donna

2 thoughts on “Homesteading: What I Would have Done Differently

  1. I’m enjoying your blog immensely – your pictures are a pleasure and the different solutions you’ve implemented (such as the hoops used for the chicken run) are informative! We just moved to SE MN, so we’re almost neighbors – I think we’re zone 4 here, though, lol. Hubby & I are in our mid-50’s and have not even started on our journey to live off the land (so to speak), but we dream of it so I focus on it daily, to know exactly what to implement first and how, once we get the chance to start. I think the winter will be an opportune time to pursue indoor activities conducive to moving forward in some way and am prepping for many such projects. But it’s just so lovely to see someone actually doing it successfully, so I wanted to thank you for sharing!

    Like

    • Gosh, your comments and compliments have absolutely made my day. Thank you so much!! Some days I am focusing so deeply on “getting the work done” that I forget that I forge to enjoy the journey. s we age it gets harder and harder. I pray that someday when we can do this no longer that we might find a person of like mind to buy our property and keep the dream alive! It won’t b for a while but fingers crossed! Make your plan, work hard and save and it WILL happen for you too!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

